European Banking Center

The European Banking Center hosts researchers who stimulate research and debate in addressing the challenges and opportunities raised by banks, financial systems and regulators.

Header logo of the European Banking Center (EBC)

Macroprudential Regulation

From Theory to Implementation

Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Participation by invitation only

Macroprudential regulation: from theory to implementation

De Nederlandsche Bank, 29-30 January 2015

Thursday, 29 January 2015 - Boardroom De Nederlandsche Bank

08:30 - 09:00 Registration
09:00 - 09:10 Welcoming Remarks Job Swank (Executive Board Member of De Nederlandsche Bank)

Session I: Systemic risk

Chair: Wolf Wagner (European Banking Center, Tilburg University)

09:10 - 10:00 Di Gong (Tilburg University)
Systemic Risk-taking at Banks: Evidence from the Pricing of Syndicated Loans
Discussant: Alberto Pozzolo (University of Molise)
10:00 - 10:50 Maarten van Oordt (De Nederlandsche Bank)
Systemic Risk and Bank Business models
Discussant: Anatoli Segura (Bank of Italy)
10:50 - 11:20 Coffee break
11:20 - 12:10 Taylor Begley (London Business School)
The Strategic Under-Reporting of Bank Risk
Discussant: Jean Colliard (HEC Paris)
12:10 - 13:00 Stephanie Chan (University of Amsterdam)
Cocos, Contagion and Systemic Risk
Discussant: Benjamin Kay (US Department of Treasury, Office of Financial Research)
13:00 - 14:30 Lunch in Foyer, at 1st floor of De Nederlandsche Bank

Session II: Macroprudential policies

Chair: Rob Nijskens (De Nederlandsche Bank)

14:30 - 15:20 Stijn Claessens (IMF)
Macroprudential Policies: Analyzing a New Database
Discussant: Richhild Moessner (BIS)
15:20 - 16:10 Olivier Loisel (CREST, ENSAE)
Optimal Monetary and Prudential Policies
Discussant: Kebin Ma (Warwick Business School)
16:10 - 16:40 Coffee break
16:40 - 17:30 Ilhyock Shim (BIS)
Comparative Assessment of Macroprudential Policies
Discussant: Dirk Schoenmaker (Duisenberg School of Finance)
18:30 Conference dinner at Saskia's Huiskamerrestaurant

Friday, 30 January 2015 - Boardroom De Nederlandsche Bank

08:30 - 09:00 Registration
09:00 - 10:00 Keynote Address John Geanakoplos (Yale)
Introduction by: Jakob de Haan (De Nederlandsche Bank)

Session III: Financial regulation

Chair: Jakob de Haan (De Nederlandsche Bank)

10:00 - 10:50 Frederic Malherbe (London Business School)
Optimal Capital Requirements over the Business and Financial Cycles
Discussant: Marcela Lucchetta (University of Venice)
10:50 - 11:20 Tobias Neumann (Bank of England)
Taking Uncertainty Seriously: Simplicity Versus Complexity in Financial Regulation
Discussant: Co-Pierre Georg (University of Cape Town)
11.20-12.10 Coffee break
12:10 - 13:00 Stephan Luck (Princeton University)
Banks, Shadow Banking, and Fragility
Discussant: Natalya Martynova, De Nederlandsche Bank
13:00 Conference closing and concluding remarks
13:10 - 14:30 Lunch in Foyer, at 1st floor of De Nederlandsche Bank

Call for Papers

De Nederlandsche Bank, the European Banking Center and the Journal of Financial Stability

invite submission for a conference on

Macroprudential Regulation: From Theory to Implementation

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

January 29-30, 2015 

Keynote Speaker: John Geanakoplos (Yale)      

Recent years have seen tremendous progress in the modelling of systemic risk. At the same time, regulators around the world have made large strides towards redesigning financial architecture with the view of incorporating macroprudential elements.  However, a significant gap exists between theoretical and empirical research of macroprudential regulation and its implementation.

This conference aims to bring together leading academics and policy makers working on macroprudential regulation. We invite high-quality submissions on macroprudential regulation and its implementation. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • The interaction of macroprudential regulation with traditional banking regulation and monetary policy
  • What are reliable indicators of systemic risk that can be used as inputs into regulation, and which instruments are most effective in reducing cyclical and structural system risk?
  • How will the adjustment of financial intermediaries to new regulation affect the effectiveness of macroprudential regulation?
  • Should macroprudential policy be carried out discretionary, or be bound by rules?
  • Designing a framework to avoid inaction when systemic risk is rising
  • Tools for encouraging diversity in the financial system so that firms become less dependent on banks
  • Should macroprudential policy be carried out at the national or supranational level?
  • Can new regulation be designed such to avoid excessive complexity?
  • Analyses of experiences with implementing macroprudential regulation

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: November 20, 2014 

Please email your paper to

Kindly indicate whether you are willing to act as a discussant in case your paper will not be accepted for the conference. For discussants and presenters travel and accommodation costs will be covered.

Decisions will be taken by December 20th and successful authors notified shortly thereafter. The sponsors will cover economy class travel and accommodation for invited participants. 

Special Issue of the Journal of Financial Stability

A Special Issue of the Journal of Financial Stability will include selected papers presented at this conference. Authors whose papers are accepted for presentation at the conference are encouraged, but not obligated, to submit their papers for the JFS Special Issue. Papers submitted for the Special Issue will be reviewed following normal JFS standards. Details regarding the journal submission process will be provided after the conference.

The conference will be held at De Nederlandsche Bank in Amsterdam. The program will include 10-12 papers with their discussions, leaving also time for comments from the audience.

Participating by invitation only.


  • Jakob de Haan (DNB)
  • Rob Nijskens (DNB)
  • Wolf Wagner (EBC) 

Program Committee

  • Elena Carletti (EUI)
  • Giovanni Di Nicolo (IMF)
  • Mathias Drehmann (BIS)
  • Xavier Freixas (UPF)
  • Frederic Malherbe (LBS)
  • Enrico Perotti (UvA)
  • Dirk Schoenmaker (DSF)
  • Tanju Yorulmazer (UvA)  

Logo De Nederlandsche Bank

When: 29 January 2015 00:00

End date: 30 January 2015 00:00