Tilburg Sustainability Center

The Tilburg Sustainability Center provides research based support to companies, governments and organizations in their quest for sustainable development.

TSC Logo


Dr. Mauricio Rodriguez Acosta, 2012-2016

  • Title of dissertation: Essays in Political Economy and Resource Economics (A Macroeconomic Perspective)
  • Promotors: Prof. J.A. Smulders, Prof. M.C. Oechslin
  • Current position: Assistant professor at Universidad del Rosario (Colombia) Department of Economics
  • Personal website: http://mauricio-rodriguez.weebly.com/

Dr. Erdal Aydin, 2011-2015

  • Title of dissertation:Energy Conservation in the Residential Sector: The Role of Policy and Market Forces
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. D. Brounen
  • Co-supervisor: Dr. N. Kok
  • Current position: Postdoc at Maastricht University, Department of Finance

Dr. Hao Liang, 2011-2015

  • Title of dissertation:Finance and Society: On the Foundations of Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. L.D.R. Renneboog
  • Co-promotor: Dr. P.C. de Goeij
  • Current position: Assistant professor of Finance at Singapore Management University

Dr. Mieneke Koster, 2008-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Essays on Sustainable Supply Management
  • Promotors: Prof.dr.ir. G.J.C.M. Vos, Prof.dr. R.G. Schroeder
  • Current position: Global category manager professional services at TNT

Dr. Arian Borgers, 2010-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Responsible Investing: New Insights into Performance and Tastes
  • Promotors: Prof.dr. C.G. Koedijk, Prof.dr. J.R. ter Horst
  • Co-promotor: Dr. J.M.M. Derwall
  • Current position: Postdoctoral researcher at Maastricht University, Department of Finance

Dr. Malik Çürük, 2011-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Essays on Economic Growth and International Trade
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. J.A. Smulders
  • Co-promotor: Dr. G.C.L. Vannoorenberghe
  • Current position: Researcher at Tilburg University, Department of Economics

Dr. Haki Pamuk, 2011-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Innovation Systems, Saving, Trust, and Economic Development in Africa
  • Promotors: Prof.dr. E.H. Bulte, Prof.dr. D.P. van Soest
  • Current position: Postdoctoral researcher at Wageningen University in Development Economics Group

Dr. Jesse Reynolds, 2010-2014

  • Title of dissertation:The International Regulation of Climate Engineering
  • Promotors: Prof.mr. J. Somsen, Prof.mr. J.M. Verschuuren
  • Current position: Postdoctoral researcher at Tilburg University, Department European and International Public Law

Dr. Suphi Sen, 2010-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Essays in Environmental and Political Economics
  • Promotors: Prof.dr. B. Melenberg, Prof.dr. E.H. Bulte
  • Current position: Economist, Ces ifo Group Munich

Dr. Hugo Smid, 2010-2014

  • Title of dissertation:Rhetoric and Realities of Coporate Social Responsibility
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. J.J. Graafland
  • Current position: Supervision De Nederlandsche Bank

Dr. Nara Huttasin, 2008-2013

  • Title of dissertation:Tourism and the Region. A Comparison of Developmental Perspectives
  • Promotor: Prof.dr.ir. J.T. Mommaas
  • Current position: Lecturer in the Department of Hotel Management, the Faculty of Management Science, Ubon Ratchathani University, Thailand

Dr. Gerard van der Meijden, 2009-2013

  • Title of dissertation:The Macroeconomic Dynamics of Trade Liberalization, Resource Exploitation, and Backstop Technologies
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. J.A. Smulders
  • Current position: Researcher at VU University Amsterdam, Faculty of Economics and Business Administration

Dr. Thomas Michielsen, 2010-2013

  • Title of dissertation:Essays in Environmental and Resource Economics
  • Promotor: Prof.dr. R. Gerlagh
  • Current position: Researcher at CPB (Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis)

Dr. Chen Zhou, 2008-2013

  • Title of dissertation: "Legal Barriers to Technology Transfer under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change: the Example of China".
  • Promotors: Prof.mr. J.M. Verschuuren and Mr.dr. A. Trouwborst
  • Current position: Assistant Professor of Environmental Law at Xiamen University, China.