Rules student desktops
General rules for all student desktops
Their are two rules that concern all student desktops at the campus. They are:
- It is prohibited to leave the PC longer than 15 minutes. The PC will automatically restart after 15 minutes and someone else is allowed to use the PC.
- It is not allowed to put material on the keyboard to prevent an automatic restart of the PC. Staff is allowed to take away the material (and possibly restart the PC) to make it available for another student.
Student desktops libraryStudent desktops in the library can be reserved.
Please note the following:
- Reserve a PC on the 2nd floor, if you would like to work individually,
- Reserve a PC on the 1st floor, if you would like to work with two - eight persons. Attention! Working individually at group desktops is allowed, however group work will be given priority over individual study.
When to make a reservation?
- You cannot reserve a desktop for the current day. A reservation has to be made at least 1 day in advance.
- You can reserve up to a maximum of 10 blocks of one hour, per week.
- Weekday evenings, Saturday and Sunday mornings and afternoons count as one block each.
- You can reserve a desktop up to four weeks in advance.
- A student who has reserved a desktop has the right to use it and may ask someone else to leave the PC.
- Your reservation is no longer valid if you fail to turn up within the first 15 minutes of the hour which has been reserved.
- The reservation will expire 15 minutes after the start of the hour for which you have made the reservation.
- If you find your reserved PC has been locked by someone else, you may turn it off and restart it.
A reserved desktop: what do I do?
- How can I tell whether a desktop is reserved? Look on the reservations page for a particular date and time. If the number of the desktop is red, then that hour has been reserved. If it is green, the PC is available.
- Has the desktop really been reserved by the person who claims to have a reservation? Allow the person to log in to the reservation system on your computer. It is not necessary to close your programs. After logging in with their administration number and password, their reservation can be checked under the header 'Overview Reservations and cancelling'