Honory doctorates 2002

Dr. R. (Robert) Schuman

Honorary supervisor Prof. Dr. H.A. Kaag - 1952 - Faculteit Economische Wetenschappen

Schuman (Clausen, Luxembourg 1886 - Scy-Chazelles, France 1963) was a French Christian Democratic politician, in 1950, the namesake of the Schuman Plan that sought Franco-German reconciliation.

Dr. R. Schuman

The Plan is seen as the forerunner of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), in turn the forerunner of the later European Communities. Schuman is still seen today as one of the founders of Europe. He was awarded the honorary doctorate for his efforts to create a European community.

During the Fourth French Republic, Schuman was Prime Minister of France twice, the first time from 1947 to 1948 and then again in 1948 itself (between the two terms of office, André Marie was Prime Minister of France for a short time). He then devoted himself mainly to the European movement, of which he became president in 1955. In 1958, he was unanimously elected the first President of the European Parliament (the "General Assembly" of the European Communities); in 1960, he became Honorary President.

He died in his modest home in the Lorraine region. A Schuman museum has been established in his native village, and for decades, villagers have been trying to have him beatified.

More about history and academic heritage

The Tilburg University academic heritage is a very diverse set of archives, visual materials, collections, devices, recorded stories, et cetera that relate to the history of the university.