PhD programs - PhD Defense

Doctorate Board

The Doctorate Board is, among other things, responsible for the awarding of doctorates and the doctorate honoris causa, and for the general policies regarding PhD programs and the PhD regulations.

From each school the dean has a position in the Doctorate Board of Tilburg University, chaired by the Rector Magnificus.


Prof. dr. W.B.H.J. van de Donk

Rector Magnificus (chair)

Prof. dr. A.J. Schuit


Prof. dr. G.M. Duijsters

Dean TiSEM

Prof. dr. G.A.C. Vervaeke

Dean TLS

Prof. dr. A.A. de Bont

Dean TSB

Prof. dr. B.R.H.M. Haverkort


Prof. dr. H.P.J. Witte

Dean TST (interim)

Ms. R. van Leeuwaarde, LL.M.


The Doctorate Board has conferred upon the Rector Magnificus the mandate to approve PhD applications.