News and events Tilburg University

NWO grant for research project "Data-inspired creativity" in collaboration with Talpa media

Published: 19th August 2019 Last updated: 07th April 2020

In the changing media landscape, ever-increasing amounts of digital data are being created that are being used to reach an increasingly fragmented audience. Under the leadership of Joris Ebbers, affiliated with the University of Amsterdam, 12 researchers - including the Tilburg University researcher Franceso Lelli (TiSEM) - received an NWO grant of € 630,000 for the research project "Data-inspired creativity: The use of big data in cross-media creative innovation processes".

ondertekening TALPA grant

This research project is being carried out in collaboration with media company Talpa. The research results and the data will be published at the end of the project so that the research project can serve as an example for the media sector. The interdisciplinary team of researchers consists of scientists from the fields of business administration, communication, computer science, linguistics, media and cultural studies.

Summary research project

Online and offline media consumption generates a wealth of data. Companies use this data to automatically compile consumer profiles and make customized product recommendations. In addition, this data can help companies identify latent consumer demand to support their new product development process. In this project we investigate how big data in the rapidly changing media industry can support the development of new media formats in the innovation process. The researchers focus on exploring challenges and opportunities for cross-media companies that can generate valuable insights by combining data from each of the different platforms they own.



Main applicant:

  • dr. J.J. Ebbers (Universiteit van Amsterdam)


  • dr. A.F.M. Krijnen (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam),
  • dr. S Kruikemeier (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
  • dr. F.A. Kunneman (Radboud Universiteit)
  • dr. J.S. Lee (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
  • dr. ir. F. Lelli (Tilburg University)
  • dr. G. van Noort (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
  • dr. J.M.T. Roos (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam)
  • dr. S.C. Sauer (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen)

More information about NWO grant