Tilburg Law School

Tilburg Law School offers highly-ranked national and international education and research in law and public administration.

Sixth Biennial Conference, ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance

Download the Conference Program Booklet

This folder contains all the info you need, including maps, time schedules, sessions, roundtables, plenary, social events and logistics. Resist printing the folder: you receive one in your conference bag upon registration.

Online program which includes all of the last minute changes to the conference activities and will be kept up to date over the course of the event.

Tilburg University, July 6 to 8, 2016

The Standing Group on Regulatory Governance of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) will hold its Sixth Biennial Conference, organized by Tilburg University, the Netherlands, from Wednesday 6 July to Friday 8 July 2016.

Wondering how to get to the conference venue? Please consult the FAQ page.

Leading Interdisciplinary Conference

The Biennial Conference is the leading interdisciplinary conference on regulation and regulatory governance held in Europe, attracting researchers from all over the globe working in a wide range of disciplines including political science, law, accounting, business, sociology, economics, international relations, anthropology, public administration, and other related disciplines.

Conference Highlights

Prof. Julia Black has been elected winner of the Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development for recognizing contributions to the field of regulatory governance by senior scholars. She succeeds 2014 winner David Levi-Faur. Prof. Black will accept the Award and give a speech afterwards at a ceremony which is scheduled during the conference dinner on Thursday 7 July. The winner of the Giandomenico Majone Prize for the best conference paper by a junior member of the profession will be announced at the dinner as well. Other conference highlights include a keynote lecture by specialist in US-China law and regulation Benjamin van Rooij, multiple round tables and panels, a solid attendance of junior researchers and established names alike, and a welcome reception at the premises of the sole Trappist abbey in the Netherlands, La Trappe.

Papers and Panel Topics

Paper or panel submissions are no longer possible. The academic committee of the conference has accepted or co-created more than 80 sessions, each accommodating about four papers. They draw on a wide range of topics including

  • Regulatory actors, networks and institutions
  • Regulatory policy making and politics
  • Regulatory enforcement and compliance
  • Sector-specific regulation, including regulation of network industries
  • Legitimacy, effectiveness, accountability, responsiveness, transparency and innovation of regulation and regulatory governance
  • Regulatory governance in local, regional, national, transnational and global perspectives
  • Risk regulation
  • Collaborative regulatory governance, co-regulation, and self-regulation
  • Regulation of novel and emerging technologies
  • Data-based regulation and regulatory governance
  • Evaluating and monitoring regulatory governance

We are still looking for participants that would like to chair a session. Please consult the preliminary program, browse for sessions with TBD chairs that are within your domain of expertise, and forward your suggestion to Reggov2016@tilburguniversity.edu.  

Past Conferences

Over the past decade the ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance’s biennial conference has established itself as the leading forum for regulation and regulatory governance research in Europe. The Standing Group’s past conferences in Barcelona (2014), Exeter (2012), Dublin (2010), Utrecht (2008), and Bath (2006) have helped establish a strong European network of researchers working in the many dimensions of regulatory governance.

More Information

For general information on the Standing Group’s activities, see the website of the ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance.

Logo ECPR OECD Workshop Reception at Tilburg University Frans Timmermans at Tilburg University