Visiting scholars

Visiting scholars at TILT

TILT has a strong focus on cooperation, not only inside the Institute, but also with external parties. We actively pursue cooperation by, amongst others, approaching individuals who TILT considers being experts in the field of law and technology and who will deliver a valuable contribution to TILT’s research. With bringing these scholars to Tilburg for a longer period, TILT wishes to generate and receive synergies which lead to new insights and excellent scholarship. Our doors are also always open for short visits (hours, days)

Visiting scholars

Due to its multi-disciplinary approach, TILT welcomes diverse research perspectives and seeks to create an environment where new ideas are developed and tested. By stimulating field-building and the development of new lines of research in technology regulation, TILT seeks to generate fundamental research which advances the state of the art and yields innovative research as well as to create societal impact by finding answers and solutions for dealing with the challenges of regulating socio-technical change. To achieve this goal, TILT enjoys collaborating with scholars inside and outside Tilburg University. We therefore welcome scholars to visit TILT in order to exchange mutual knowledge and expand each other's networks.

Aim of the visit

A visiting scholar is a scholar established in his or her field, who visits TILT from an outside institution or organization. Visiting scholars have excellent knowledge in the field of law, technology, and society. The visit is aimed at advancing a collaborative research activity. The position is available to those whose research, creative activities, or professional achievements make an extended stay at TILT appropriate to engage with and collaborate with our scholars. The main task of the visiting scholar is to conduct research; however, it would be highly appreciated if he/she is also willing to give occasional guest lectures, research seminars or master classes. Visiting scholars will also be invited to talks, workshops and conferences hosted by TILT.

Terms and conditions

Visiting scholars need to be affiliated with an institution or organization other than Tilburg University. Furthermore, priority is given to those with a doctoral degree and being recognized as experts in their field. We welcome scholars visiting us from countries within or outside the European Union. 

The duration of the visit can be discussed but ranges in principle between a few days to a maximum of three consecutive months. The length of the visit is, amongst other things, dependent on the number of simultaneous visitors and the academic calendar of Tilburg University. As we can host, because of capacity reasons, only a limited number of visiting scholars per academic year, we provide priority to applicants being recommended or introduced by (former) members of TILT. Finally, it should be noted that TILT is not able to provide any financial assistance. This means that prospective visiting scholars should obtain funding through other means such as an outside grant or award, a home institution, or other forms of scholarship. 

Applicants that will be invited to become a visiting scholar at TILT will join us for the agreed period based on a hospitality agreement. This means that Tilburg University, when necessary, takes care of any visa and that the prospective visitor will be granted access to campus facilities (e.g. library), access to Internet and given a workspace in a shared or single occupancy office (depending on availability). Visitors are expected to bring their own laptop.


An application consisting of a cover letter describing brief plan of the research to be carried out during the visiting period, curriculum vitae, list of publications, and referral from a TILT (senior) member (if applicable) can be submitted to
All applications will be considered by the TILT Management Team, Director of Research, and Research Team Leaders.

Research visitors

The following persons visited our department:

Flavia BavettaBocconi University, Milan, Italy


Federico SeriniUniversity of Rome
Halefom AbrahaUniversity of Oxford
Stefania ArditoLuiss Guido Carli University
Kaitlyn RentalaBrennan Center for Justice
Maria Grazia Porcedda Trinity College Dublin
Eva-Maria ThierjungUniversity of Greifswald
Aviv GaonReichman University
Michal AlbersteinBar-Ilan University - BIU
Kaisa HuhtaUniversity of Eastern Finland
Tellervo Ala-lathiUniversity of Helsinki
Olga SemenetsLCF Law Group
Esra GültekinKayseri University
Berdien van der DonkUniversity of Copenhagen
Joanna MazurUniversity of Warsaw
Veronica MeryUniversity of Chile
Dovilė Petkevičiūtė-BarysienėVilnius University
Teresa QuintelUniversité de Luxembourg
Kaisa Huhta University of Eastern Finland
Katharina Paul University of Vienna
Heike FelzmannThe National University of Galway, Galway, Ireland
Dan Svantesson Bond University, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Robert RosenbergerSchool of Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology
Francesco SindicoUniversity of Strathclyde, Glasgow, United Kingdom
Anu MassoTallinn University of Technology, Tallinn, Estonia
Sven NyholmEindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
John Danaher Law School, The National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
Huang-Chih SungGraduate Institute of Technology, Innovation and Intellectual Property Management, Chengchi University, Taiwan
Joanna BrysonUniversity of Bath, Bath, United Kingdom
Ignacio CofoneMcGill University, Montreal, Canada
Nicolo ZingalesUniversity of Sussex, Brighton, United Kingdom
Carlo BotrugnoFlorence University, Florence, Italy
William G. StaplesUniversity of Kansas, Lawrence, United States of America
Sapna KumarUniversity of Houston Law Center, Houston, United States of America
Teresa ScassaUniversity of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada
Maria Helen MurphyMaynooth University, Maynooth, Ireland
Geoffrey A. ManneInternational Center for Law & Economics, Portland, United States of America
Miho KamitsukueSapporo University, Sapporo, Japan
Helen Eenmaa-DimitrievaUniversity of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia
Oscar BorgognoUniversity of Turin, Turin, Italy
Maria MacocinschiUniversity of Turku,  Turku, Finland
G.H. BaekRepublic of Korea
Maria da Graça Canto MonizNew University of Lisbon
Alena JuricUniversity of Mostar
Robin PierceBrunel University, London
Kristen ThomasenUniversity of Ottawa, Canada
Dominika ZavadovaUniversity of Pavol Jozef Safarik, Slovakia
Ilari DiscaUniversity of Catania, Italy
stván BöröczUniversity of Pécs, Hungary
Kalliopi-Kyriaki DilaverakiInternational Hellenic University, Greece
Samira EbrahimUniversity of Pretoria, South Africa
Inga MalinauskaitėMykolas Romeris University, Lithuania
Panagiota KiortsiThe National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Follow TILT on social media