Dies Natalis Tilburg University 2021

Tilburg University to award three honorary doctorates during dies natalis

Published: 04th February 2022 Last updated: 07th February 2022

Three American scientists will receive honorary doctorates from Tilburg University on June 16, 2022, during its dies natalis. Mary E. Barth (Professor of Accounting at Stanford University) and Christine Moorman (Professor of Marketing at Duke University) will both receive an honorary doctorate from the Tilburg School of Economics and Management. Prof. James Gross (Professor of Psychology at Stanford University) receives an honorary doctorate from the Tilburg School of Social and Behavioral Sciences. The honorary doctorates are conferred upon them because of their exceptional academic achievements.

Emerita Professor Mary Barth has contributed distinctively to the academic and professional communities as a scholar, educator, editor, standard setter and organizational leader. Her research focuses on financial accounting and reporting issues, particularly topics of interest to accounting standard setters. Accounting standards serve as the language used by companies to measure their economic activities and communicate their financial performance and risk to capital providers and other stakeholders. Professor Barth became a member of the American Accounting Association Hall of Fame in 2018. She is also recognized as an outstanding educator. She won several best teacher awards at Stanford University and received the American Accounting Association outstanding educator award.  She was nominated by Philip Joos, Professor of Accounting.

Professor Christine Moorman is a leading expert on learning and knowledge utilization by consumers, managers, and organizations. She has studied both the effects and nature of learning in the context of innovation, alliances and networks, and public policy. As the founder of The CMO Survey, Professor Moorman bridges the gap between science and practice. She has made large and widely acknowledged contributions to the fields of marketing and management. She maps the opinions of a large number of Chief Marketing Officers semi-annually and analyzes shifting priorities. In doing so, she seeks to increase the value of the field of study to companies and the broader society. She is a Fellow of the American Marketing Association, one of the highest honors a marketing scholar can receive from peers. She also won several prestigious teaching awards. She was nominated by Inge Geyskens, Professor of Marketing.

Professor James Gross is the Director of the Stanford Psychophysiology Lab. Dr. Gross has laid the foundation of the modern emotion regulation theory. His process model of emotion regulation has guided research in numerous areas including affective science, clinical science, political science, and business. Gross's research specifically focuses on emotions, emotion coherence, and emotion regulation strategies in healthy and clinical populations. He has received numerous research awards from the American Psychological Association (APS) and the Society for Psychophysiological Research (SPR), among others, for his pioneering work on emotion regulation. He has received several teaching awards, including the Walter J. Gores Award for Excellence in Teaching. The honorary doctorate is awarded in celebration of 50 years of research and teaching in psychology at Tilburg University. He was nominated by Tom Smeets, Professor of Clinical Psychology.

Shaping change

The dies natalis was previously scheduled for November 18, 2021, but has been postponed to June 16, 2022, due to corona measures. Architect and former Chief Government Architect Floris Alkemade will deliver the dies speech on this festive occasion. The theme of this year’s speech is Shaping change: Reflecting on changes and the future of society.

Note to editors

The dies natalis will take place on June 16, 2022, at 16:00 hrs. in the Auditorium in Cobbenhagen Building, Warandelaan 2, Tilburg, The Netherlands. For more information, please contact the press officers at persvoorlichters@tilburguniversity.edu, phone (+31) (0)13 466 4000.