Research Tilburg School of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Ethics Review Board Social and Behavioral Sciences

The Ethics Review Board (ERB) of the School of Social and Behavioral Sciences of Tilburg University is a permanent and independent committee, established by the School’s management team to test scientific and ethical aspects of proposals for research projects, not subjected to the Dutch Medical Research in Human Subjects Act (WMO).

To this end the ERB refers to the Dutch Ethics Code for research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences involving human subjects.


Summer vacation: The ERB is closed from August 2 until August 13. To receive a response before August 2, you must submit a proposal no later than July 16.

Online submission (SSO sign-in)

Recommended background literature

Complaint Procedure / Klachtenprocedure

In case of complaints regarding any aspect of being included or excluded in a study that has been reviewed by the Ethics Review Board (ERB), participants can contact the Chair of the ERB: Dr. Carlo Garofalo.


Please contact us via:

Composition Ethics Review Board

The Ethics Review Board consists of a Chair and a representative of each of the nine departments:

  • Dr. Carlo Garofalo (Chair)
  • Dr. Olga Stavrova (Deputy Chair)
  • Prof. dr. Hedwig van Bakel
  • Dr. Sasa Batistič
  • Dr. Kim De Roover
  • Dr. Loek Halman
  • Dr. Esther Hartman
  • Thijs van Laarhoven MSc.
  • Dr. Nikolas Rathert

The ERB members are appointed by the Dean. 

ERB regulations