Science Committee Social and Behavioral Sciences

The Science Committee publishes a guideline on ‘Data Handling and Methods Reporting’ (DHMR) for TSB researchers. The Science Committee periodically investigates the quality of data handling and the reporting of research methods by researchers of the School.

The members of this committee are:

  • Prof. Jelte Wicherts (Chair), Department of Methodology and Statistics
  • Prof. Ien van de Goor, Department of Tranzo
  • Dr. John Bechara, Department of Organization Studies
  • Dr. Michèle Nuijten, Department of Methodology and Statistics
  • Dr. Christof Van Mol, Department of Sociology
  • Jeske de Vet (Secretary), Research Support Team TSB 

The following things are considered:

  • The storage of research data (in a data archives in the own institute; in a national data archive such as DANS; on a server that is accessible via the internet);
  • The completeness of the stored research data (completed questionnaires; raw research data of experiments; data obtained from transformation of raw data, including missed observations and outliers; data files as used for statistical analysis; etc.);
  • The reporting of used research methods;
  • The compliance with rules regarding the privacy of participants in experiments and other forms of research;
  • The accessibility of data to other researchers, reviewers of journals, and everybody who wants to check the data and the results and conclusions based on these data;

The Management Team of TSB appoints the members of the TSB Science Committee. The committee consists of a chairman/professor and at least three members of the scientific staff (PhD and at least 0,8 fte tenured)

Links to: