News and events Tilburg University

Jean-Claude Laprie Prize 2023 for paper reliable computing systems for Dean Haverkort

Published: 30th June 2023 Last updated: 30th June 2023

Dean of the Tilburg School of Humanities and Digital Sciences Boudewijn Haverkort, together with co-authors, received the Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Porto on June 29. The award ceremony took place during the annual IFIP/IEEE Congress on Dependable Systems & Networks.

The award is given to authors of an excellent paper published at least 10 years ago in the field of high reliability computer system design, which is still influencing current developments. Boudewijn Haverkort and co-authors Christel Baier, Holger Hermanns and Joost-Pieter Katoen published the paper "Model-checking algorithms for continuous-time Markov chains" in 2003 in IEEE Transaction on Software Engineering. The paper presents a new highly efficient method and algorithms for computing the reliability of computer systems. 

Boudewijn Haverkort

Haverkort: "I am very honored to receive this award precisely for this paper, which I have long considered one of the highlights of my scientific work. Above all, it is a result of collaboration that goes beyond boundaries of traditional subfield delineations (theoretical computer science, formal methods and software engineering, design of reliable computer systems). The more than a thousand citations for the paper (on google scholar), and the frequent use of the paper's results in academia and industry is also joyful.” 

Jean-Claude Laprie (1944-2010) was a renowned French computer scientist, active in the design of reliable computer systems for aviation. The award consists of a plaque presented at the DSN Congress on June 29