woman with camera

Three Tilburg University Professors Crown-Appointed Members of the SER

Published: 28th March 2024 Last updated: 02nd April 2024

The Dutch Cabinet has appointed Irmgard Borghouts (TSB), Bastiaan Starink (TLS), and Mijntje Lückerath-Rovers (TIAS) as new members of the Social and Economic Council (SER). They will advise the government on the domains of entrepreneurship, decent work, sustainable growth, an inclusive society, a fair distribution of income, and broad prosperity. The new members have been appointed for the period of April 1, 2024, to March 31, 2026.      

Prof. Dr. Irmgard Borghouts, endowed professor of HRM & Social Security, has been appointed for her multidisciplinary expertise in social policy, social security, and strategic HRM issues within organizations. She has been involved in numerous research projects, including commissioned work by the European Commission and the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment (SZW). She is one of the members of the Independent Commission on the Future of the Disability and Occupational Disability Systems (Octas), which recently presented a report on the future of a system for long-term illness and occupational disability.


Prof. Mr. Dr. Bastiaan Starink, endowed professor of Labor Market, Pensions, and Taxation, has been conducting research for years on the extensive pension system reform. Additionally, Starink is the director of the Competence Centre for Pension Research and a Fellow at Netspar at Tilburg University. His primary focus areas are the fiscal aspects of collective pensions and the labor market. Over the past 15 years, he has become an authority in his field. In addition to his professorship, he is a partner at PwC.


Prof. Dr. Mijntje Lückerath is a professor of Corporate Governance at TIAS, Tilburg University. Her research focuses on the role of the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors and corporate governance, particularly regarding long-term value creation and boardroom dynamics. She is the author of the annual Dutch ‘Female Board Index’ and co-author of the annual National Commissioners Research.

Mijntje Lückerath

Furthermore, the Council of Ministers has approved the reappointment of the current SER crown members affiliated with Tilburg University: Prof. Dr. K. Kim Putters (chairman), Prof. Dr. Marike Knoef (TiSEM), and Prof. Dr. Josette Dijkhuizen (TiSEM). 

About the SER and its crown members

The Social and Economic Council is the primary advisory body for the government and parliament on socio-economic issues. The crown members in the SER are independent experts with expertise in various socio-economic areas. The crown members are appointed by the king on the recommendation of the cabinet. Their task is to bring in knowledge and represent the public interest. Additionally, they serve as bridges between employer and employee members. In addition to the crown members, the SER is composed of representatives of employer and employee organizations.