Vrienden van Cobbenhagen

Meet, learn, contribute

Professor Cobbenhagen Foundation

The Professor Cobbenhagen Foundation, which grew out of the Tilburg Academic Economic Circle (TAEK), is traditionally the alumni society of Tilburg University. It is named after Professor M.J.H. Cobbenhagen, who was the first professor at the Economic University of Professional Education, the distant forerunner of Tilburg University.

In forming a society of Tilburg graduates, Cobbenhagen had two things in mind. On the one hand, the Alma Mater was to be a permanent breeding ground for its graduates and, on the other, students were to benefit from the practical experiences of these very same alumni.

In the mid-eighties, independent faculty alumni associations were established at the initiative of the Professor Cobbenhagen Foundation. Its function, therefore, shifted to serving as an umbrella organization for these alumni associations. Alumni are encouraged to join 'their' faculty society. In 1989, a collaboration agreement was signed between the Foundation and all faculty associations in existence at that point. In 1995, this collaboration agreement was officially extended to include all new program-based associations. The university now has several alumni associations.

Meet the board

The members of the board of the Professor Cobbenhagen Foundation are:

  • Mr. W.E.C. Scheepens:  chair
  • H.J.H. van Kemenade MSc.:  secretary
  • P.F. van Beurden MSc.:  member
  • Mr. H.A.J. de Jong: member
  • Drs. E.D.J. de Schrijver: member
  • Prof. dr. W.B.H.J. van de Donk: member on behalf of the Executive Board of Tilburg University

Join Friends of Cobbenhagen

With your membership you support special programs such as the Outreaching Honors Program, you actively give meaning to society and it also brings you many benefits: for example, you can attend interesting meetings with top speakers and company visits.