Tilburg University department Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence

Department of Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence

Members of the Cognitive Science & Artificial Intelligence (CSAI) department conduct research in the interdisciplinary domain of Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science and are involved in teaching the Bachelor and Master’s educational programs on Cognitive Science & Artificial Intelligence and Data Science & Society. The department is located on the Tilburg University campus (Dante Building) and in the Spoorzone/MindLabs. The department maintains a close collaboration with the Jheronimus Academy of Data Science (JADS) in ‘s-Hertogenbosch and with other departments and research institutes at Tilburg University. We are member of the Benelux Association for Artificial Intelligence (BNVKI), participate in the Special Interest Group for AI (SIG AI) and the Tilburg University Special Interest Group for AI (TAISIG), contributed to the Dutch AI Manifesto, and take active part in the Confederation of Laboratories for Artificial Intelligence Research in Europe (CLAIRE). 

Head of Department: prof. dr. Marie Postma


  • Human – Technology Interaction 
    Research leader: prof. dr. Pieter Spronck
  • Deep Learning for Perception
    Research leader: prof. dr. Eric Postma
  • Computational Linguistics
    Research leader: dr. Afra Alishahi
  • Computational Brain and Behaviour
    Research leader: prof. dr. Marie Postma

Research Coordinator: dr. Maryam Alimardani