Tilburg Law School

About Tilburg Law School

Tilburg Law School was established in 1963 and approximately 3,000 students are currently enrolled in its law programs. The School employs more than 300 staff. There are approximately 60 professors, 30 associate professors, 200 assistant professors and other academic staff. Tilburg Law School is located in the Montesquieu building.


Tilburg Law School has a constant high ranking in national reviews on legal education and in peer reviews. This can be attributed to the high quality of teaching, the structure and academic content of the programs, the individual attention given to students and to the quality of the student support facilities. The learning center in the Montesquieu building for example, provides students with a study area containing all the IT facilities that they need in an open and modern environment.

Departments and research institutes

The individual departments are responsible for the study programs. The research programs are a shared initiative between the departments and the research institutes.


Law School Board

The Law School Board is responsible for the daily business within the Law School and also for the organization and coordination of the educational and research programs.

Anja Opdebeeck Managing Director
Geert Vervaeke Dean / Chairman Law School Council
Vanessa Mak Vice dean Research / Director of Studies
Maurice Adams Vice dean Eduction
Stijn de Kort Student Advisor Education
Bob van Soolingen Secretary

Law School Council

 The Law School Council is the most important advisory body of representatives within the faculty. It is comprised of seven students and seven members of staff. The Law School Council looks after the views and needs of students and staff in the fields of education, research, policy and decision-making. Law School Council has approval and advisory rights in a number of areas.

Bob van Soolingen Secretary Law School Council
faculteitsraad@magisterjft.nl Student Council members