Administration and Money Matters

Tuition fees

On this page, we briefly explain the three main rates. There are many exceptions to the rates.

Statutory rate: EU/EEA nationality and no Dutch degree

Every year, the Minister of Education determines the tuition fees for full-time and part-time programs in higher education.

All students with EU/EEA nationality are required to pay these fees, referred to as the statutory fees (€2,006 in 2017-18; €2,060 in 2018-19).

These fees applies to all institutes of higher education throughout the Netherlands and is a one-off payment, regardless of the number of programs or courses you take or the institution where you take them. This applies for as long as you do not yet have a Dutch degree.

More information

Institutional rate: Non-EU/EEA nationality or already Dutch degree

The fees for non-EU/EEA nationals are determined by the institutes (universities) themselves. These fees are referred to as the institutional fees. If you pay the institutional fees, you will be required to pay these fees for each program in which you register.

EU/EEA students also have to pay the institutional fees for a Bachelor’s program if as they already have a Dutch Bachelor’s diploma and for a Master’s program if they already have a Dutch Master’s diploma.

The rates may be different per program, especially if you are granted a waiver. Check out the different rates.

The main institutional rates are:
  • Bachelor's program: € 8,400 in 2017-18; € 8,500 in 2018-19
  • Master's program: € 14,500 in 2017-18 and €14,600 in 2018-19

More information

Weighted fees: Pre-Master’s program

Pre-Master’s students are registered as Bachelor’s students, but they do not pay regular tuition fees but a weighted fee per course.

The weighted fee for a 6-credit course is set at € 201 (2017-18)

The maximum weighted fee for a pre-Master’s program is as much as the statutory fee: € 2,006 (in 2017-18)

Please remind: if you deregister for a Pre-Master’s program before the end of the program, you do NOT get a refund of (a part of) the weighted fee!

More information

Why do different tuition fees exist and what are they based upon?

The Dutch Higher Education and Research Act (Wet op het Hoger Onderwijs en Wetenschappelijk onderzoek) stipulates that a student enrolled in an initial graduate program has to pay either the statutory tuition fees or the institutional fees. Most students will pay the statutory fees set by the Dutch Minister of Education, Culture and Science.

Students who enroll in a second BA or MA program – having finished their first BA or MA program – and students from outside the European Economic Area have to pay the institutional tuition fees. These fees are set by the University’s Executive Board after consultation with the University Council.

In principle, Tilburg University’s institutional fees are based on the total costs for initial / first degree BA and MA programs. Marketing considerations may lead some programs to set a different fee. In addition, Schools can offer a waiver (discount) to potentially promising students. The institutional fees cannot be lower than the statutory fees. The income position of students is not taken into account when setting the institutional fees or waiver. There are various organizations and institutions that provide grants to students.

Students who enroll in a pre-Master’s program, pay a weighted fee, depending on the size of their program in credits. See more information

After obtaining their MA degree, students receive Tilburg University knowledge vouchers. These vouchers give graduates the right to take courses from the regular curriculum for free up to five years after graduation to a maximum of 12 EC.